Fedora 18 on Arndale

Warning: may kill your cat and burn down your house

EDIT:
This post is kinda outdated now, but if you are interested in the process have a read. If you just want a more stable Fedora 18 on Arndale check: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Arndale_Board

Fedora 18 on Arndale

So I’ve never done anything quite like this before, so what I’m doing below is probably not the right way to do it and maybe not even safe. I built everything directly on the arndale with linaro’s image(linaro image), but you can probably do this a number of ways. This is how I put fedora 18 on the arndale:

1) Find a linux image that works on the arndale (linaro image) though I suppose you could just cross-compile everything for it.

2) Grab a fedora 18 rootfs (Fedora 18 rootfs) and a 3.8 arndale kernel(linaro-arndale-3.8)

3) Replace the ubuntu rootfs with the fedora rootfs, but make sure you copy the /lib/modules/* over to the new fedora rootfs.

4) You will need to make a few modifications to the fedora rootfs, make sure you are pointing to the correct partitions for /boot and /, the sdcard starts at mmcblk1 on the arndale.
Modify: /etc/fstab

/dev/mmcblk1p3          /                  ext4    defaults        1 1
/dev/mmcblk1p2          /boot/             vfat    umask=0077,shortname=winnt 0  0

5) Change the bootargs on uboot to point to your rootfs:

editenv bootargs
console=tty0 console=ttySAC2,115200n8  root=/dev/mmcblk1p3 rootwait ro
saveenv
run bootcmd

6) Compile the kernel on the arndale(or where ever): Download the 3.8 kernel, extract it and go into the directory. You will need to configure the kernels .config, here is the one I used: .config which you put in the directory you extracted and entered.
The main options you need for fedora 18 are(You probably need more, but that’s what I put. Thanks DarthJava):

CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_CGROUPS=y
CONFIG_AUTOFS4_FS=y
CONFIG_IPV6=y
CONFIG_FANOTIFY=y

Next run the following to compile the kernel:

export ARCH=arm
make uImage
make modules
make modules_install
make exynos5250-arndale.dtb

Next you will need to copy the files you have created over to the /boot/ partition:

cp arm/arch/boot/uImage /boot/
cp arm/arch/boot/dts/exynos5250-arndale.dtb /boot/board.dtb

7) Now you need to make the uInitrd(you can find the kernel version in /lib/modules/[kernel-version]):

depmod
mkinitrd initrd [kernel-version]
# For me it was 3.8.0-rc4
mkinitrd initrd 3.8.0-rc4

Finally you need to add the uboot header and copy the uInitrd to /boot/:

mkimage -A arm -O linux -T ramdisk -C none -a 0 -e 0 -n fedorard -d initrd uInitrd
cp uInitrd /boot/

Now we’re all done, just reboot the computer and hopefully I did not forget anything and it boots!

And if you want to use my terrible image, which will probably blow up: Fedora 18 images

About oatleywillisa

Computer Networking Student
This entry was posted in SBR600 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fedora 18 on Arndale

  1. Al Thomas says:

    Hi Andrew,

    I have been testing your images for awhile and don’t have much positive to report. I get a successful boot about 1 out of 5 times and can consistently crash it with any sort of network activity. I suspect this parallels your experiences. I’m not complaining though; it’s more stable than anything I have built… 🙂 I will continue to see if I can diagnose or tune it… see if I can add anything to the stability issues.

    • Hi Al,

      Thanks for your response. Unfortunately some of the links I posted went down, but I do have some feedback on some of those issues. I ran into the networking issues when I compiled 3.6 and earlier kernels. But after compiling the 3.8 kernel with the kernel config on this page, I was able to get networking running stable. I have not run into any crashes while using it with the 3.8 kernel.

      Booting does seem to be an issue, not quite sure what the cause is, but it seems as though it cannot shutdown properly(?). Beware, there is currently a spinlock issue inside the kernel for the arndale. You may notice the arndale getting very hot or high cpu usage when performing tasks.

      Andrew Oatley-Willis

      • Al Thomas says:

        Thanks Andrew,

        I have an update on some of these issues. It is running way more stable since I did a yum update. And I am also running the 3.8 kernel. Additionally, I put a swap file on my SD card and turned off a lot of daemons. I may do some sequential investigation on all of these issues to see if I can narrow it down better. But it has come a long way…

        Only 5 of the 250 or so updates don’t work… fedora-logos, glibc-common, gnome-keyring, iputils, and systemd for various reason … will look into that as well…

        But thanks for your help… this is awesome…

  2. Very good to know. Thanks again for your help and testing. I will be unable to perform tests on this for a while. But I believe that there will be good support for this from fedora arm soon. Will post again about the Arndale boards when that happens, or when I get more time to test.

    Thanks,

    Andrew Oatley-Willis

Leave a Reply

